79 new schools added to DEIS Programme

The Department of Education has announced that 79 new schools will be added to the DEIS programme from 1 September 2017 following a review of the initiative. Minister Brouton launched the new scheme from Our Lady Immaculate Junior National School in Darndale yesterday.

The Plan builds on the experiences of existing DEIS schools and draws on international best practice.  It sets out new targets to:

  • Further improve literacy and numeracy
  • Improve school completion rates
  • Improve progression to further and higher education

Extra supports, like additional NEPS provision, priority professional development provision and book rental schemes, will be put in place.

The list of new schools added to the programme can be found at http://bit.ly/2lblc90