Department of Education announces 4 new primary schools and new financial supports

The Department of Education has announced the approval of 4 new primary schools for September 2017 and September 2018. Applications for patrons are currently open. Three of these new schools will open in 2017 and will cover the areas of Ballincollig, Co. Cork, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin and Pelletstown, Dublin 7. The 2018 school will serve the south Dublin city areas of 2, 4 and 6.

Additionally, The Minster for Education and Skills, Richard Bruton, has announced improved supports to facilitate the opening of new schools. Primary schools are to receive a grant of €15,000 to set up a new school and permission has been granted to appoint the new principal from 1 January of the year the new school is opening. The new grant and appointment dates are awarded in recognition of the high costs associated with setting up a new school and the workload which goes with it.

Further information can be found at