October 12, 2015

Primary School Curriculum

The primary school curriculum is divided into 6 areas with 11 subjects.

Language – English and Irish


Physical Education

The Arts – Visual Arts, Music and Drama

Social, Environmental and Scientific Education – History, Geography and Science

Social, Personal and Health Education

The curriculum aims to:

  • develop each child’s potential to the full
  • encourage a love of learning
  • help children develop skills they will use all their lives.

You can learn more about the primary school curriculum from the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment.